::MISO SOUP FOR THE SOUL::

Image

We all love a fresh bowl of homemade soup. Soup warms you up from the inside and some soups even give your immune system a boost. We all love the soothing feeling we get after eating a bowl of soup. And with autumn and winter coming up, soup is perhaps the best thing one could wish for on a rainy and cold day. So, treat yourself and your loved ones to a homemade bowl of soup and fight those winter blues!

I love to make a nice hearty soup and usually French onion soup is one of my favorites. However, we all need to try something new and I’ve only recently discovered the delicious taste of miso soup! I used to think of miso soup as a rather boring kind of soup. I never paid much attention to miso soup when visiting Japanese restaurants, because I was way too eager to eat my sushi instead.

The other day I was craving a healthy ramen soup and used miso paste as its stock. To my surprise it turned out super delicious and I’ve been hooked on miso soup ever since.

I decided to Google a few miso recipes and while I was browsing through various recipe sites, I actually discovered that miso provides great health benefits. A bowl of miraculous miso soup a day could make a world of difference to your health.

Miso soup:

  • Reduces risks of cancer
  • Strengthens the immune system
  • Is antiviral
  • Prevents aging – high in antioxidants
  • Helps maintain nutritional balance – full of nutrients, beneficial bacteria and enzymes, miso provides: protein, vitamin B12, vitamin B2, vitamin E, vitamin K, tryptophan, choline, dietary fiber, linoleic acid and lecithin.
  • Helps preserve beautiful skin – miso contains linoleic acid, an essential fatty acid that helps your skin stay soft and free of pigments.
  • Helps reduce menopausal complaints – the isoflavones in miso have been shown to reduce hot flashes.

Miso has a wonderful sweet/salty flavor that can be used in a wide variety of recipes. The color of miso can vary from light yellow, good to use in a sweet miso soup during warm weather, to a deep dark brown with earthy tones and hearty flavor, which can be cooked with cubed root vegetables and dark leafy greens during the colder months.

Et voilà! This is how my miso soup turned out:

Image

I personally don’t like sticking to recipes. So, my advice to you would be: just get creative and simply add your own touch, while enhancing the stock to taste.

Ingredients used: 5 miso sachets incl. dried vegetables, 1x Chinese cabbage, spring onions, carrots, sugar, tiny bit of sesame oil, ramen noodles, boiled eggs, red chili, diced garlic, minced fresh ginger, umami paste, Kikkoman soy sauce (I ran out of miso sachets)

Now it’s your turn! Are you ready to make your own miso soup?

3 thoughts on “::MISO SOUP FOR THE SOUL::

  1. Pingback: Where to Buy Miso: Shopping for Miso in Japan vs. UK | Making Miso Tasty

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

